<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:wfw="http://wellformedweb.org/CommentAPI/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	xmlns:sy="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/syndication/"
	xmlns:slash="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/slash/"
	>

<channel>
	<title>Massachusetts Injury Lawyers Blog</title>
	<atom:link href="https://www.massachusettsinjurylawyersblog.com/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>https://www.massachusettsinjurylawyersblog.com/</link>
	<description>Published by Bristol County Injury Attorney — Suffolk County Accident Lawyer — Law Office of James K. Meehan</description>
	<lastBuildDate>Sat, 26 Sep 2026 20:09:25 +0000</lastBuildDate>
	<language>en-US</language>
	<sy:updatePeriod>
	hourly	</sy:updatePeriod>
	<sy:updateFrequency>
	1	</sy:updateFrequency>
	
<site xmlns="com-wordpress:feed-additions:1">118953219</site>	<item>
		<title>Massachusetts Ruling Discusses Partial Incapacity Benefits</title>
		<link>https://www.massachusettsinjurylawyersblog.com/massachusetts-ruling-discusses-partial-incapacity-benefits/</link>
		
		<dc:creator><![CDATA[The Law Office of James K. Meehan]]></dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Sat, 26 Sep 2026 20:06:32 +0000</pubDate>
				<category><![CDATA[Workers' Compensation]]></category>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">https://www.massachusettsinjurylawyersblog.com/?p=2295</guid>

					<description><![CDATA[An injured worker may remain unable to work even after the statutory period for temporary total incapacity benefits ends. What happens next can have a major effect on the household budget. A recent Massachusetts Department of Industrial Accidents Reviewing Board decision explains why a judge cannot find that a worker has no capacity to earn [&#8230;]]]></description>
										<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>An injured worker may remain unable to work even after the statutory period for temporary total incapacity benefits ends. What happens next can have a major effect on the household budget. A recent Massachusetts Department of Industrial Accidents Reviewing Board <a href="https://www.mass.gov/decision/dennisse-cepeda-v-jetblue-airways-corp" target="_blank" rel="noopener">decision</a> explains why a judge cannot find that a worker has no capacity to earn wages and then calculate partial incapacity benefits as though that worker could earn a full-time wage. If your benefits are about to change, ask a Massachusetts workers&#8217; compensation attorney to review both the medical findings and the proposed weekly rate.</p>
<p><strong>Facts and Procedural History</strong></p>
<p>Reportedly, an airline employee tripped over a golf bag at work, fell backward, and used her arm to keep her head from striking the ground. She later reported continuing neck and shoulder symptoms. The insurer paid temporary total incapacity benefits for a period, then stopped. The employee sought their resumption, and an administrative judge heard evidence about her medical condition and ability to work.</p>
<p>Allegedly, the judge credited the employee&#8217;s account of her limitations and adopted several medical opinions. The judge found that the work injury continued to cause her symptoms and that she remained totally incapacitated from gainful employment. The judge awarded temporary total benefits through the end of the available statutory period. For the period after that, however, the judge assigned her an earning capacity of $600 per week and awarded only $28.63 per week in partial incapacity benefits. Both sides appealed: the insurer disputed causation and total incapacity, while the employee challenged the assumed earning capacity.</p>
<p><span id="more-2295"></span></p>
<p><strong>Demonstrating an Injury is Work Related</strong></p>
<p>The Reviewing Board upheld the judge&#8217;s findings on the issues raised by the insurer. The medical evidence and testimony the judge credited supported the finding that the employee&#8217;s injuries remained related to the workplace accident. The board also explained that an administrative judge has discretion to weigh evidence about the extent of incapacity. It found no basis to disturb the conclusion that this employee could not perform gainful work.</p>
<p>The benefit calculation was different. A finding of continued total incapacity could not be reconciled with an assumed $600 weekly earning capacity for the same period. The board explained that when a worker remains totally disabled after exhausting temporary total benefits under section 34, section 35 partial incapacity benefits must be paid at the statutory maximum applicable to that worker. The board therefore vacated the $600 earning-capacity finding and ordered weekly section 35 benefits of $291.47 from the date section 34 benefits ended. It did not find that the employee had recovered or could earn minimum wages.</p>
<p>This decision does not mean that every worker who reaches the section 34 limit automatically receives the maximum section 35 rate. The key was the judge&#8217;s specific, supported finding that this employee remained totally unable to work. In another claim, credible medical and vocational evidence may support a real earning capacity. The practical lesson is to read the judge&#8217;s findings alongside the benefit calculation. If they conflict, the weekly payment may be wrong even when the medical ruling favors the worker.</p>
<p><strong>Talk to a Seasoned Massachusetts Workers’ Compensation Attorney</strong></p>
<p>A change from total to partial benefits can produce a sudden drop in income. Before accepting the new amount, make sure the assigned earning capacity reflects the findings and the evidence in your claim. Attorney James K. Meehan is a seasoned Massachusetts <a href="https://www.karsnermeehan.com/practice-areas/workers-compensation/" target="_blank" rel="noopener">workers&#8217; compensation</a> lawyer who can evaluate a disputed rate and explain the available appeal options. Call the Law Office of James K. Meehan at 508-822-6600 or use the firm&#8217;s online contact form to discuss your benefits.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
					
		
		
		<post-id xmlns="com-wordpress:feed-additions:1">2295</post-id>	</item>
		<item>
		<title>Ruling Discusses Workers’ Compensation Obligations Under Massachusetts Law</title>
		<link>https://www.massachusettsinjurylawyersblog.com/ruling-discusses-workers-compensation-obligations-under-massachusetts-law/</link>
		
		<dc:creator><![CDATA[The Law Office of James K. Meehan]]></dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Sun, 20 Sep 2026 20:06:46 +0000</pubDate>
				<category><![CDATA[Workers' Compensation]]></category>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">https://www.massachusettsinjurylawyersblog.com/?p=2294</guid>

					<description><![CDATA[An injured worker may discover that the company paying their wages never purchased workers&#8217; compensation insurance. That discovery can make a claim feel hopeless, especially when several businesses participated in the job. In certain circumstances, Massachusetts law can place responsibility on an insurer higher in the contracting chain. A recent Reviewing Board decision involving a [&#8230;]]]></description>
										<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>An injured worker may discover that the company paying their wages never purchased workers&#8217; compensation insurance. That discovery can make a claim feel hopeless, especially when several businesses participated in the job. In certain circumstances, Massachusetts law can place responsibility on an insurer higher in the contracting chain. A recent Reviewing Board <a href="https://www.mass.gov/decision/jose-almonte-v-d-a-trucking-llc-and-blue-triton-brands-inc" target="_blank" rel="noopener">decision</a> involving a truck driver shows how that protection can operate and why a separate injury settlement does not automatically erase a benefit award. If coverage is disputed after a workplace accident, have an experienced Massachusetts workers&#8217; compensation attorney examine every business and insurer involved.</p>
<p><strong>Case Setting</strong></p>
<p>Reportedly, a driver working for an uninsured subcontractor lost control of a tractor-trailer after a collision on a Massachusetts highway. The truck rolled onto its side, and the driver injured his shoulder and hand. The subcontractor&#8217;s lack of coverage brought the insurer for another company in the contracting arrangement into the workers&#8217; compensation case under section 18 of the Massachusetts statute. The Workers&#8217; Compensation Trust Fund and that insurer disputed liability and benefits on several grounds.</p>
<p>Allegedly, an administrative judge ordered the higher-tier company&#8217;s insurer to pay a closed period of temporary total incapacity benefits, followed by partial incapacity benefits and medical expenses. The driver had also brought a civil claim against the other motorist involved in the crash. That claim settled before the workers&#8217; compensation hearing. The hearing record disclosed the settlement amount, but it did not establish how the money was allocated among the driver&#8217;s claim, a family member&#8217;s claim, legal fees, and other components.</p>
<p><span id="more-2294"></span></p>
<p><strong>Workers’ Compensation Obligations Under Massachusetts Law</strong></p>
<p>The insurer argued on appeal that the civil settlement should have reduced its workers&#8217; compensation obligation to avoid a double recovery. The Reviewing Board did not decide that section 15 could never apply to such a settlement. It held that this insurer had failed to raise a section 15 credit or offset as an issue before the administrative judge. A reference to the settlement in a written closing argument, offered for a different purpose, did not properly put the offset question before the judge. Because the insurer first pressed the point on appeal, it had waived it.</p>
<p>That distinction matters. Massachusetts law generally coordinates workers&#8217; compensation payments and recoveries from responsible third parties. The amount available for reimbursement or an offset can depend on details of the settlement and its allocation. Here, the board had neither a properly raised defense nor a complete record of those details. It therefore affirmed the benefit order without imposing the offset the insurer requested. The board also summarily affirmed the judge&#8217;s rulings on the other issues the employer and insurer raised.</p>
<p><strong>Meet with an Experienced Massachusetts Workers’ Compensation Attorney</strong></p>
<p>If you need assistance navigating a workers’ compensation claim, it is wise to talk to a lawyer. Attorney James K. Meehan is an experienced Massachusetts <a href="https://www.karsnermeehan.com/practice-areas/workers-compensation/" target="_blank" rel="noopener">workers&#8217; compensation</a> lawyer who can investigate your potential sources of coverage and coordinate related claims. Call the Law Office of James K. Meehan at 508-822-6600 or use its online contact form to review your options.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
					
		
		
		<post-id xmlns="com-wordpress:feed-additions:1">2294</post-id>	</item>
		<item>
		<title>Massachusetts Ruling Discusses Employee Obligations in Workers’ Compensation Claims</title>
		<link>https://www.massachusettsinjurylawyersblog.com/massachusetts-ruling-discusses-employee-obligations-in-workers-compensation-claims/</link>
		
		<dc:creator><![CDATA[The Law Office of James K. Meehan]]></dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Mon, 14 Sep 2026 20:08:01 +0000</pubDate>
				<category><![CDATA[Workers' Compensation]]></category>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">https://www.massachusettsinjurylawyersblog.com/?p=2293</guid>

					<description><![CDATA[Someone who cannot return to a physically demanding job may still answer calls, prepare estimates, or supervise a small business. Those activities raise two different questions in a Massachusetts workers&#8217; compensation claim: how much the worker can earn, and whether all earnings were accurately reported. A recent Reviewing Board decision sent a case back for [&#8230;]]]></description>
										<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Someone who cannot return to a physically demanding job may still answer calls, prepare estimates, or supervise a small business. Those activities raise two different questions in a Massachusetts workers&#8217; compensation claim: how much the worker can earn, and whether all earnings were accurately reported. A recent Reviewing Board <a href="https://www.mass.gov/decision/nicholas-harris-v-city-of-methuen" target="_blank" rel="noopener">decision</a> sent a case back for answers to both. If you receive weekly benefits while doing any paid work, including self-employment, seek legal guidance about reporting that work and how it may affect your benefits.</p>
<p><strong>Factual History and Procedural Setting</strong></p>
<p>Reportedly, a municipal employee hurt his back while lifting at work. He also operated a seasonal irrigation business and sometimes plowed snow. After the injury, he continued some lighter tasks for his company and hired others for physical installation work. Medical testing showed a disc problem, and he received treatment. He sought total benefits for one period, partial benefits thereafter, and payment of medical expenses.</p>
<p>Allegedly, the self-insurer presented bank and business records, an employee earnings report, and surveillance evidence. The worker acknowledged that he had received snowplowing income that he had not reported. An administrative judge found that he could perform some light work, assigned a $600 weekly earning capacity, awarded partial incapacity and medical benefits, and rejected the insurer&#8217;s fraud claim. The insurer appealed both the earning-capacity finding and the rejection of its allegation that the worker had failed to report income properly.</p>
<p><span id="more-2293"></span></p>
<p><strong>Employee Obligations in Workers’ Compensation Claims</strong></p>
<p>The Reviewing Board concluded that the judge had not adequately analyzed the business evidence. The judge described the worker&#8217;s income from the irrigation company as negligible, but made no findings about amounts paid to the business or its net earnings during the relevant period. A business&#8217;s gross receipts do not, by themselves, establish a self-employed worker&#8217;s earning capacity. Ordinarily, net earnings provide a more useful starting point, although the worker&#8217;s skills and other vocational factors can also matter. The board required findings grounded in the records, not an unsupported estimate.</p>
<p>The board also found the fraud allegation analysis incomplete. Massachusetts law requires employees receiving weekly compensation to report earnings, including wages or salary from self-employment, on the approved form when requested. The judge accepted the worker&#8217;s explanation about unreported snowplowing money but did not address the earnings report or reconcile it with the irrigation-business evidence. The Reviewing Board did not declare the worker fraudulent. It vacated the relevant findings and sent the case back so the judge could decide the reporting and earning-capacity questions with specific findings. While that review proceeds, an earlier conference order governs weekly benefits.</p>
<p><strong>Meet with a Trusted Massachusetts Workers’ Compensation Attorney Today</strong></p>
<p>If you have questions about how additional self-employment may impact your potential workers’ compensation claim, it is advisable to meet with an attorney who can explain your rights. Attorney James K. Meehan is a trusted Massachusetts <a href="https://www.karsnermeehan.com/practice-areas/workers-compensation/" target="_blank" rel="noopener">workers&#8217; compensation</a> attorney who can help inform you of your obligations and what benefits you may be owed. Call 508-822-6600 or contact the Law Office of James K. Meehan online to discuss your claim today.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
					
		
		
		<post-id xmlns="com-wordpress:feed-additions:1">2293</post-id>	</item>
		<item>
		<title>Massachusetts Ruling Discusses Medical Evidence in Workers&#8217; Compensation Claims</title>
		<link>https://www.massachusettsinjurylawyersblog.com/massachusetts-ruling-discusses-medical-evidence-in-workers-compensation-claims/</link>
		
		<dc:creator><![CDATA[The Law Office of James K. Meehan]]></dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Sun, 06 Sep 2026 20:09:01 +0000</pubDate>
				<category><![CDATA[Workers' Compensation]]></category>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">https://www.massachusettsinjurylawyersblog.com/?p=2292</guid>

					<description><![CDATA[Filing a workers&#8217; compensation claim often begins with a short medical note, not a complete report. Massachusetts regulations set requirements for documents submitted with claims for weekly incapacity benefits, but a recent Reviewing Board decision shows why the timing of an objection matters. The ruling also illustrates the difference between the documents needed to start [&#8230;]]]></description>
										<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Filing a workers&#8217; compensation claim often begins with a short medical note, not a complete report. Massachusetts regulations set requirements for documents submitted with claims for weekly incapacity benefits, but a recent Reviewing Board <a href="https://www.mass.gov/decision/scott-sologaistoa-v-bsh-bridgewater-state-hospital-and-occc-old-colony-correctional-center" target="_blank" rel="noopener">decision</a> shows why the timing of an objection matters. The ruling also illustrates the difference between the documents needed to start a claim and the evidence considered at a hearing. If an insurer challenges your claim over paperwork, speak with a Massachusetts workers&#8217; compensation attorney before assuming the case is over.</p>
<p><strong>Facts and Procedural History</strong></p>
<p>Reportedly, a correction officer injured his right knee while restraining an inmate and underwent surgery. He later returned to full duty. About two years later, he felt a pop in the same knee while running to an emergency at a different facility. After another return to work, increasing pain made stairs and routine duties difficult. A treating physician eventually took him out of work, and another surgeon recommended a knee replacement.</p>
<p>Allegedly, the officer filed benefit claims involving both injury dates. He attached a one-page form signed by his treating physician, with a check mark next to the statement that he could not work at that time. The Department of Industrial Accidents accepted the claims for processing. Following a hearing, an administrative judge awarded temporary total incapacity and medical benefits based on the earlier injury. The self-insurer appealed, arguing that the form did not satisfy the filing regulation and that the entire claim should have been dismissed.</p>
<p><span id="more-2292"></span></p>
<p><strong>Medical Evidence in </strong><strong>Workers&#8217; Compensation Claim</strong><strong>s</strong></p>
<p>The Reviewing Board rejected that argument. The regulation requires a recent physician&#8217;s report or record describing the extent and duration of incapacity and connecting it to the claimed work injury. The board acknowledged that the attached form might not have met those requirements. But the filing rule governs acceptance of a claim at the beginning of the process. The self-insurer had not used the available procedures to object when the claim moved forward from conciliation. By raising the objection at later stages, it waived that challenge. The board would not erase the hearing decision because of a filing-stage problem raised too late.</p>
<p>The self-insurer also challenged the attorney-fee award, claiming that the attached note was not a relevant medical report. The board explained that the fee rules differ by stage. The statutory restriction the insurer cited did not bar a hearing-stage fee, and the judge had discretion to find the treating physician&#8217;s note relevant for the earlier fee award. The Reviewing Board affirmed the award of benefits and fees.</p>
<p><strong>Talk to an Assertive Massachusetts Workers’ Compensation Attorney</strong></p>
<p>A claim can become complicated when an old injury, a later event, and a brief doctor&#8217;s note all appear in the same record. If you were hurt while working and have questions about your potential workers’ compensation claim, it is smart to talk to an attorney. Attorney James K. Meehan is an assertive Massachusetts <a href="https://www.karsnermeehan.com/practice-areas/workers-compensation/" target="_blank" rel="noopener">workers&#8217; compensation</a> attorney who can help you gather the evidence needed to recover any benefits you may be owed. Call 508-822-6600 or complete the Law Office of James K. Meehan&#8217;s online contact form to discuss the status of your claim.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
					
		
		
		<post-id xmlns="com-wordpress:feed-additions:1">2292</post-id>	</item>
		<item>
		<title>Massachusetts Court Discusses Fault in Workers&#8217; Compensation Claims</title>
		<link>https://www.massachusettsinjurylawyersblog.com/massachusetts-court-discusses-fault-in-workers-compensation-claims/</link>
		
		<dc:creator><![CDATA[The Law Office of James K. Meehan]]></dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Fri, 28 Aug 2026 14:53:59 +0000</pubDate>
				<category><![CDATA[Workers' Compensation]]></category>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">https://www.massachusettsinjurylawyersblog.com/?p=2289</guid>

					<description><![CDATA[Arriving early for work does not automatically place an employee outside Massachusetts workers’ compensation law, even when the employee chooses an unsafe entrance. A recent Reviewing Board decision examined whether a kitchen worker’s fall while climbing a locked fence arose out of employment and whether serious and willful misconduct could bar benefits. Fault generally does [&#8230;]]]></description>
										<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p style="font-weight: 400">Arriving early for work does not automatically place an employee outside Massachusetts workers’ compensation <a href="https://malegislature.gov/Laws/GeneralLaws/PartI/TitleXXI/Chapter152" target="_blank" rel="noopener">law</a>, even when the employee chooses an unsafe entrance. A recent Reviewing Board decision examined whether a kitchen worker’s fall while climbing a locked fence arose out of employment and whether serious and willful misconduct could bar benefits. Fault generally does not control the threshold question of work connection. If an insurer claims that your injury happened outside the course of employment, consult a skilled Massachusetts workers’ compensation attorney promptly about your rights.</p>
<p><strong>The Early Arrival, Serious Injury, and Denial of the Claim</strong></p>
<p style="font-weight: 400">Reportedly, the employer operated a brewery and beer hall with several entrances. The kitchen door generally opened at 8:00 a.m., while workers with key cards could enter earlier. The employee prepared food, cleaned, and accepted deliveries. Although his shift started at 9:00 a.m. and a supervisor had told him not to arrive early, he sometimes began near 8:00 a.m. by using an open beer-garden gate. The employer paid all time recorded after he clocked in.</p>
<p style="font-weight: 400">It is alleged that the employee arrived before 7:00 a.m. on September 16, 2022, found the gate locked, and tried to climb the fence. He fell about eight feet and fractured his right hip. The employee claimed Section 34 temporary total incapacity benefits and Sections 13 and 30 medical benefits. An administrative judge denied the claim at conference, and the employee appealed to a de novo hearing. The judge again denied the claim, finding that the climb arose from the employee’s desire to clock in two hours early rather than from his employment. The judge consequently did not decide the insurer’s Section 27 serious and willful misconduct defense. The employee appealed.<span id="more-2289"></span></p>
<p><strong>How the Reviewing Board Analyzed Course of Employment and Section 27</strong></p>
<p style="font-weight: 400">The Board applied Section 26 of the Massachusetts Workers’ Compensation Act, which covers an injury arising out of and in the course of employment. The standard asks whether the job’s nature, conditions, obligations, or incidents brought the employee into contact with the risk. Coverage may extend beyond scheduled hours when an employee pursues a benefit for the employer. An employee on the premises may also remain within the employment relationship for a reasonable period before work.</p>
<p style="font-weight: 400">The employee argued that he came to work and was hurt while trying to reach his workplace through his customary access area. The insurer responded that climbing the fence was neither a job duty nor a reasonable incidental activity. The Board sided with the employee. The accident occurred on the employer’s premises, and the hearing judge found that the employee was there to work. Ordinary fault does not determine whether an injury arose out of and in the course of employment. It matters only if the insurer proves serious and willful misconduct under Section 27.</p>
<p style="font-weight: 400">The Board reversed the finding that the injury fell outside the course of employment. It did not order benefits because the hearing judge had made no findings or rulings on Section 27. The governing statute requires a decision on each disputed issue supported by adequate subsidiary findings. The Board recommitted the case for the judge to decide whether the conduct met Section 27’s standard, leaving entitlement to benefits unresolved.</p>
<p><strong>Challenge a Denied Claim with a Dedicated Massachusetts Workers’ Compensation Attorney</strong></p>
<p style="font-weight: 400">Disputes over work connection and alleged misconduct can determine whether an injured employee receives wage and medical benefits. If your employer or its insurer argues that the timing, location, or circumstances of your accident defeat your claim, contact the Law Office of James K. Meehan. James K. Meehan is a seasoned Massachusetts <a href="https://www.karsnermeehan.com/practice-areas/workers-compensation/" target="_blank" rel="noopener">workers’ compensation lawyer</a> serving clients throughout Massachusetts, including Bristol, Plymouth, and Norfolk Counties. Call 508-822-6600 or use the firm’s online contact form to arrange a consultation and discuss a strategy for pursuing the benefits you deserve.</p>
<p style="font-weight: 400">
]]></content:encoded>
					
		
		
		<post-id xmlns="com-wordpress:feed-additions:1">2289</post-id>	</item>
		<item>
		<title>Massachusetts Court Discusses Permanent Disability in Workers&#8217; Compensation Cases</title>
		<link>https://www.massachusettsinjurylawyersblog.com/massachusetts-court-discusses-permanent-disability-in-workers-compensation-cases/</link>
		
		<dc:creator><![CDATA[The Law Office of James K. Meehan]]></dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Fri, 21 Aug 2026 14:19:04 +0000</pubDate>
				<category><![CDATA[Workers' Compensation]]></category>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">https://www.massachusettsinjurylawyersblog.com/?p=2287</guid>

					<description><![CDATA[A workers’ compensation award can depend as much on the issues the parties preserve as on the evidence they introduce. In a recent Massachusetts decision, an insurer challenged an employee’s average weekly wage after previously stipulating to that figure, while both sides agreed that the permanent total disability rate required a small mathematical correction. The [&#8230;]]]></description>
										<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p style="font-weight: 400">A workers’ <a href="https://malegislature.gov/Laws/GeneralLaws/PartI/TitleXXI/Chapter152">compensation</a> award can depend as much on the issues the parties preserve as on the evidence they introduce. In a recent Massachusetts decision, an insurer challenged an employee’s average weekly wage after previously stipulating to that figure, while both sides agreed that the permanent total disability rate required a small mathematical correction. The ruling shows why stipulations, hearing memoranda, and timely objections matter throughout a benefits case. If a workplace injury has left you unable to earn your former wages, speak with a knowledgeable Massachusetts workers’ compensation attorney about protecting your claim and calculating the benefits available to you.</p>
<p><strong>The Employee’s Injury and Claim for Benefits</strong></p>
<p style="font-weight: 400">Reportedly, the employee performed general construction work and supervisory duties for the employer. In January 2020, staging moved while the employee was nailing siding to a wall, causing him to fall about six feet onto concrete and a bush. He struck his head and suffered bleeding but continued working. Persistent pain later led him to a hospital, where he described landing on his right shoulder and hitting his head. The employee eventually sought workers’ compensation benefits arising from the accident.</p>
<p style="font-weight: 400">It is alleged that an administrative judge issued a conference order awarding Section 34 temporary total incapacity benefits at $600 per week, based on a $1,000 average weekly wage, beginning June 24, 2021, together with medical benefits. The insurer appealed to a de novo hearing. The judge found a compensable injury, credited the employee’s continuing pain, and adopted medical opinions connecting the accident to head, neck, shoulder, and knee conditions. The judge found permanent and total incapacity, continued Section 34 benefits through June 20, 2024, and awarded Section 34A benefits at $666.70 per week thereafter. The insurer appealed to the Reviewing Board.<span id="more-2287"></span></p>
<p style="font-weight: 400"><strong>How the Reviewing Board Evaluated the Wage Stipulation and Benefit Rate</strong></p>
<p style="font-weight: 400">The insurer argued that the employee failed to prove the $1,000 average weekly wage through testimony or documents. Ordinarily, the employee bears that burden, and a hearing decision must rest on record evidence. The Reviewing Board rejected the argument because the parties had jointly signed a prehearing memorandum stipulating to the wage nearly two years before the hearing. The insurer omitted the issue from its hearing memorandum, did not raise it at the hearing’s start, did not question the employee about earnings, and sought no wage records. It first disputed the figure in its closing brief.</p>
<p style="font-weight: 400">The Board explained that stipulations narrow the matters in dispute and relieve a party from presenting unnecessary proof of an agreed fact. A party seeking release from a stipulation must show that it was improvidently made or that enforcing it would not serve justice. The insurer made no such showing. Because its own agreement made additional wage evidence unnecessary, it could not obtain appellate relief by pointing to the resulting absence of that evidence.</p>
<p style="font-weight: 400">The Board affirmed the findings on liability, medical causation, incapacity, medical treatment, temporary total incapacity, and permanent total incapacity. It corrected only the arithmetic used for the Section 34A award. Two-thirds of the stipulated $1,000 wage equals $666.67, not $666.70. The Board therefore ordered ongoing Section 34A benefits at $666.67 beginning June 21, 2024, with credit for payments already made, and awarded appellate counsel fees.</p>
<p><strong>Protect Your Benefits with a Proven Massachusetts Workers’ Compensation Attorney</strong></p>
<p style="font-weight: 400">Work injury claims require careful attention to wage calculations, medical proof, and every agreement made during litigation. If an insurer has disputed your disability benefits or average weekly wage, contact the Law Office of James K. Meehan for practical guidance. James K. Meehan is an experienced Massachusetts <a href="https://www.karsnermeehan.com/practice-areas/workers-compensation/" target="_blank" rel="noopener">workers’ compensation lawyer</a> who serves injured employees throughout Massachusetts, including Bristol, Plymouth, and Norfolk Counties. Call 508-822-6600 or use the firm’s online contact form to schedule a consultation and learn how the firm can help protect the compensation you need.</p>
<p style="font-weight: 400">
]]></content:encoded>
					
		
		
		<post-id xmlns="com-wordpress:feed-additions:1">2287</post-id>	</item>
		<item>
		<title>Massachusetts Court Discusses Workers’ Compensation in the Context of Personal Injury Claims</title>
		<link>https://www.massachusettsinjurylawyersblog.com/massachusetts-court-discusses-workers-compensation-in-the-context-of-personal-injury-claims/</link>
		
		<dc:creator><![CDATA[The Law Office of James K. Meehan]]></dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Fri, 14 Aug 2026 13:31:38 +0000</pubDate>
				<category><![CDATA[Workers' Compensation]]></category>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">https://www.massachusettsinjurylawyersblog.com/?p=2284</guid>

					<description><![CDATA[The Massachusetts Workers&#8217; Compensation Act gives injured employees no-fault benefits but limits common-law lawsuits arising from workplace injuries. Those limits can also influence claims against companies other than the direct employer. The Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court examined whether a subcontractor&#8217;s employee could pursue a general contractor for negligent hiring after seeking workers&#8217; compensation benefits. If [&#8230;]]]></description>
										<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p style="font-weight: 400">The <a href="https://malegislature.gov/Laws/GeneralLaws/PartI/TitleXXI/Chapter152" target="_blank" rel="noopener">Massachusetts Workers&#8217; Compensation Act</a> gives injured employees no-fault benefits but limits common-law lawsuits arising from workplace injuries. Those limits can also influence claims against companies other than the direct employer. The Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court examined whether a subcontractor&#8217;s employee could pursue a general contractor for negligent hiring after seeking workers&#8217; compensation benefits. If you suffered a serious jobsite injury, contact a Massachusetts workers&#8217; compensation attorney promptly to assess your benefits and possible claims against other responsible parties.</p>
<p style="font-weight: 400"><strong>History of the Case</strong></p>
<p style="font-weight: 400">Reportedly, the defendant general contractor subcontracted roofing work at a Massachusetts resort to the plaintiff&#8217;s employer. Their agreement placed the project under the defendant&#8217;s general direction but left the means and methods to the employer. The employer supplied fall-protection equipment, directed the plaintiff&#8217;s daily work, and had received prior federal citations involving inadequate fall protection.</p>
<p style="font-weight: 400">It is alleged that the plaintiff unclipped his harness while moving shingles in October 2021 because his safety line was too short. He slipped before attaching to another line and fell from the roof, suffering life-threatening injuries. He filed a workers&#8217; compensation claim through the employer&#8217;s insurer, which the New York State Workers&#8217; Compensation Board administered. He also sued the defendant in Massachusetts for negligence and negligent hiring.<span id="more-2284"></span></p>
<p style="font-weight: 400">It is reported that the plaintiff argued that the defendant failed to plan, supervise, and enforce jobsite safety and selected the employer despite knowing about its safety history. The Superior Court granted the defendant summary judgment, concluding that it had not retained control over the employer&#8217;s work and owed no negligent hiring duty to the employer&#8217;s own worker. The plaintiff appealed.</p>
<p style="font-weight: 400"><strong>Workers’ Compensation in the Context of Personal Injury Claims</strong></p>
<p style="font-weight: 400">On appeal, the court reviewed summary judgment de novo and considered whether Massachusetts law imposed a duty. General direction, two brief site visits, material deliveries, and the building permit did not establish control over the safety measures that caused the fall. The employer controlled the harnesses, safety lines, training, and roofing methods. Without retained control, the direct negligence theory failed.</p>
<p style="font-weight: 400">Workers&#8217; compensation principles played a central role in the negligent hiring analysis. The plaintiff maintained that the defendant selected the employer despite its history of fall-protection violations. The court nevertheless declined to recognize an independent negligent hiring duty where the plaintiff was the subcontractor&#8217;s own employee, the general contractor did not control the injury-producing condition, and the injury arose from the subcontractor&#8217;s performance of its work.</p>
<p style="font-weight: 400">The court stressed that the plaintiff had pursued workers&#8217; compensation benefits. Both New York and Massachusetts systems reflect a legislative compromise. Employees receive benefits without proving fault but generally surrender the right to sue their employer in tort for the same harm.</p>
<p style="font-weight: 400">The subcontract&#8217;s indemnification provision reinforced the court&#8217;s concern. If the plaintiff recovered against the defendant, the defendant could seek indemnity from the employer. Responsibility would return to the employer, potentially exposing it through workers&#8217; compensation and indemnity. That result could circumvent exclusivity and disrupt the Legislature&#8217;s allocation of responsibility among contractors, employees, and insurers. The court affirmed summary judgment for the defendant.</p>
<p style="font-weight: 400"><strong>Discuss Your Claim with an Experienced Massachusetts Workers&#8217; Compensation Attorney</strong></p>
<p style="font-weight: 400">Construction injuries may involve workers&#8217; compensation benefits and possible claims against third parties, but the relationship between those remedies requires careful legal analysis. James K. Meehan of the Law Office of James K. Meehan is an experienced Massachusetts <a href="https://www.karsnermeehan.com/workers-compensation.html" target="_blank" rel="noopener">workers&#8217; compensation</a> attorney who helps injured employees throughout Massachusetts evaluate benefit claims and potential recovery from other parties. If you were hurt at work, call 508-822-6600 or use the firm&#8217;s online contact form today to arrange a conference and protect your right to compensation.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
					
		
		
		<post-id xmlns="com-wordpress:feed-additions:1">2284</post-id>	</item>
		<item>
		<title>Massachusetts Court Discusses Default Judgments in Workers&#8217; Compensation Cases</title>
		<link>https://www.massachusettsinjurylawyersblog.com/massachusetts-court-discusses-default-judgments-in-workers-compensation-cases/</link>
		
		<dc:creator><![CDATA[The Law Office of James K. Meehan]]></dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Fri, 07 Aug 2026 22:21:43 +0000</pubDate>
				<category><![CDATA[Workers' Compensation]]></category>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">https://www.massachusettsinjurylawyersblog.com/?p=2282</guid>

					<description><![CDATA[Ignoring a workers&#8217; compensation lawsuit will not make the financial exposure disappear. The Massachusetts Workers&#8217; Compensation Act generally requires employers to maintain insurance so employees can receive benefits after job-related injuries, and the Workers&#8217; Compensation Trust Fund may pursue reimbursement when it pays a claim for an uninsured employer. A recent Massachusetts judgment shows how [&#8230;]]]></description>
										<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p style="font-weight: 400">Ignoring a workers&#8217; compensation lawsuit will not make the financial exposure disappear. The <a href="https://malegislature.gov/Laws/GeneralLaws/PartI/TitleXXI/Chapter152" target="_blank" rel="noopener">Massachusetts Workers&#8217; Compensation Act</a> generally requires employers to maintain insurance so employees can receive benefits after job-related injuries, and the Workers&#8217; Compensation Trust Fund may pursue reimbursement when it pays a claim for an uninsured employer. A recent Massachusetts judgment shows how quickly damages, legal fees, costs, and interest can accumulate when an employer fails to respond. If you face a benefit, coverage, or trust-fund reimbursement dispute, contact a knowledgeable Massachusetts workers&#8217; compensation attorney now to protect your rights and meet approaching deadlines.</p>
<p><strong>Facts and Procedural History</strong></p>
<p style="font-weight: 400">Reportedly, the plaintiff trust fund filed a civil complaint against the defendant employer on May 15, 2023. The plaintiff sought to recover money connected to an injured worker&#8217;s claim, including damages, the injured claimant&#8217;s attorney&#8217;s fees, and litigation expenses incurred in the administrative and civil proceedings.</p>
<p style="font-weight: 400">It is reported that the summons and complaint were properly served on the defendant, but the defendant filed no answer or other defense. The clerk entered a default on October 3, 2023. The defendant made no filing and took no further action after that entry. The plaintiff then requested a default judgment and an assessment of damages under Massachusetts Rule of Civil Procedure 55(b)(2). The court considered the complaint and an affidavit submitted as an exhibit to the damages motion.<span id="more-2282"></span></p>
<p><strong>Default Judgments in Workers’ Compensation Cases</strong></p>
<p style="font-weight: 400">The trial court instead applied the procedure for entering judgment after default. A default establishes liability on well-pleaded factual allegations, but the court must still determine the relief supported by the record when damages are not merely a sum certain. Rule 55(b)(2) permits the judge to conduct that assessment and enter an appropriate judgment.</p>
<p style="font-weight: 400">The court first confirmed the procedural foundation for relief. The plaintiff had filed the complaint, completed service, obtained an entry of default, and presented its request for damages. The defendant&#8217;s failure to answer or otherwise defend left the plaintiff&#8217;s allegations uncontested. Citing Massachusetts authority on default proceedings, the court adopted the complaint&#8217;s allegations and the statements in the supporting affidavit as true. That approach allowed the court to evaluate the requested amounts without treating the defendant&#8217;s silence as proof of an unlimited or unsupported recovery.</p>
<p style="font-weight: 400">The court awarded the plaintiff a gross sum of $110,353.02. That total consisted of $95,614.16 in damages, with interest running from the filing date as provided by law, $13,836.86 for the injured claimant&#8217;s attorney&#8217;s fees, and $902 in litigation costs. The court allowed the fee and cost components without interest and cited the Massachusetts statutory and regulatory provisions supporting those amounts. The judgment demonstrates that ignoring a trust-fund reimbursement action can lead to a binding award based on the plaintiff&#8217;s properly supported submissions.</p>
<p><strong>Consult an Experienced Massachusetts Workers&#8217; Compensation Attorney</strong></p>
<p style="font-weight: 400">Workers&#8217; compensation disputes can involve benefit eligibility, insurance obligations, administrative proceedings, and later reimbursement claims. Do not wait for a missed deadline or default to narrow your options. James K. Meehan of the Law Office of James K. Meehan is an experienced Massachusetts <a href="https://www.karsnermeehan.com/workers-compensation.html" target="_blank" rel="noopener">workers&#8217; compensation</a> lawyer who represents clients throughout Massachusetts. Take the next step toward protecting your interests by calling 508-822-6600 or using the firm&#8217;s online contact form today to arrange a conference.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
					
		
		
		<post-id xmlns="com-wordpress:feed-additions:1">2282</post-id>	</item>
		<item>
		<title>Massachusetts Court Discusses Retaliation Following Work Injuries</title>
		<link>https://www.massachusettsinjurylawyersblog.com/massachusetts-court-discusses-retaliation-following-work-injuries/</link>
		
		<dc:creator><![CDATA[The Law Office of James K. Meehan]]></dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Thu, 30 Jul 2026 09:32:24 +0000</pubDate>
				<category><![CDATA[Workers' Compensation]]></category>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">https://www.massachusettsinjurylawyersblog.com/?p=2274</guid>

					<description><![CDATA[Employees who suffer serious workplace injuries often assume that receiving workers&#8217; compensation benefits protects them from losing their jobs. While Massachusetts law prohibits employers from retaliating against employees for pursuing workers&#8217; compensation claims, it does not prevent employers from taking legitimate employment actions when an injured worker can no longer perform the essential functions of [&#8230;]]]></description>
										<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p style="font-weight: 400">Employees who suffer serious workplace injuries often assume that receiving workers&#8217; compensation benefits protects them from losing their jobs. While Massachusetts law prohibits employers from retaliating against employees for pursuing <a href="https://www.mass.gov/workers-compensation-for-injured-workers" target="_blank" rel="noopener">workers&#8217; compensation</a> claims, it does not prevent employers from taking legitimate employment actions when an injured worker can no longer perform the essential functions of the position, even with a reasonable accommodation. A recent Massachusetts decision highlights the distinction between workers&#8217; compensation rights and disability discrimination protections. If you have questions about your rights after a workplace injury, an experienced Massachusetts workers&#8217; compensation attorney can help you understand the protections available under the law and evaluate whether your employer acted lawfully.</p>
<p style="font-weight: 400"><strong>Facts of the Case</strong></p>
<p style="font-weight: 400">Reportedly, the plaintiff worked as a registered nurse at a state mental health facility, where she provided direct care to psychiatric patients. Several years before the events leading to the lawsuit, she filed an internal complaint alleging sexual harassment against a supervisor. She later transferred to another facility, where she claimed she experienced hostility and mistreatment after another supervisor learned about her earlier complaint.</p>
<p style="font-weight: 400">Allegedly, the plaintiff suffered a serious back injury while restraining a patient during the course of her employment. As a result, she received workers&#8217; compensation benefits and remained out of work while undergoing medical treatment. Independent medical evaluations concluded that she could return to work only if she were not required to restrain patients or use physical force. The employer offered her a temporary modified work plan, but she declined because she believed she could still be required to restrain patients in an emergency. After exhausting her available leave and remaining unable to return to work, the employer held a hearing and ultimately terminated her employment because she could not perform the essential functions of her position.<span id="more-2274"></span></p>
<p style="font-weight: 400">It is reported that the plaintiff sued, alleging disability discrimination and retaliation. She argued that the employer should have accommodated her by placing her in a position without patient contact. She asserted that her termination was motivated by her prior complaints of harassment and protected activity. The court entered summary judgment for the defendants, and the plaintiff appealed.</p>
<p style="font-weight: 400"><strong>Retaliation Following Work Injuries</strong></p>
<p style="font-weight: 400">On appeal, the court explained that an employee asserting disability discrimination must establish that she was a qualified individual capable of performing the essential functions of her position, either with or without a reasonable accommodation.</p>
<p style="font-weight: 400">Applying that standard, the court concluded that restraining patients was an essential function of the registered nurse position at the psychiatric facility. Although such situations might not arise every day, the ability to respond during emergencies was fundamental to providing direct patient care in a locked mental health unit. Because the plaintiff acknowledged that she could not safely perform patient restraints and sought reassignment to an administrative position involving no patient contact, the court determined that she was not qualified to perform the essential duties of her existing position. Massachusetts law requires employers to provide reasonable accommodations, but it does not require them to eliminate essential job functions or create entirely new positions for injured employees.</p>
<p style="font-weight: 400">The court also rejected the plaintiff&#8217;s retaliation claims. The court found that the substantial passage of time between her protected activity and her termination undermined any inference of retaliatory motive. The undisputed evidence showed that the employer&#8217;s decision resulted from her inability to return to work after exhausting leave, rather than from her prior complaints or her receipt of workers&#8217; compensation benefits. Accordingly, the court affirmed the judgment dismissing all of the plaintiff&#8217;s claims.</p>
<p style="font-weight: 400"><strong>Talk to a Trusted Massachusetts Workers’ Compensation Attorney</strong></p>
<p style="font-weight: 400">If you have questions about your rights after a work-related injury, it is important to seek experienced legal guidance as soon as possible. Attorney James K. Meehan of the Law Office of James K. Meehan is a trusted Massachusetts <a href="https://www.karsnermeehan.com/practice-areas/workers-compensation/" target="_blank" rel="noopener">workers’ compensation</a> attorney who understands the challenges injured workers face and is committed to protecting their rights throughout the workers&#8217; compensation process. Contact the Law Office of James K. Meehan at 508-822-6600 or complete the firm&#8217;s online contact form to schedule a consultation and discuss your options.</p>
<p style="font-weight: 400">
]]></content:encoded>
					
		
		
		<post-id xmlns="com-wordpress:feed-additions:1">2274</post-id>	</item>
		<item>
		<title>Massachusetts Court Discusses Work Injury Claims</title>
		<link>https://www.massachusettsinjurylawyersblog.com/massachusetts-court-discusses-work-injury-claims/</link>
		
		<dc:creator><![CDATA[The Law Office of James K. Meehan]]></dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Wed, 22 Jul 2026 09:32:30 +0000</pubDate>
				<category><![CDATA[Workers' Compensation]]></category>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">https://www.massachusettsinjurylawyersblog.com/?p=2276</guid>

					<description><![CDATA[When a fatal workplace accident occurs, many families assume that workers&#8217; compensation benefits are their only available remedy. In most cases, Massachusetts workers&#8217; compensation law prevents employees and their families from suing an employer for injuries or death arising out of the employment relationship. However, there are important exceptions. A decision by a Massachusetts court [&#8230;]]]></description>
										<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p style="font-weight: 400">When a fatal workplace accident occurs, many families assume that workers&#8217; compensation benefits are their only available remedy. In most cases, Massachusetts <a href="https://www.mass.gov/workers-compensation-for-injured-workers" target="_blank" rel="noopener">workers&#8217; compensation</a> law prevents employees and their families from suing an employer for injuries or death arising out of the employment relationship. However, there are important exceptions. A decision by a Massachusetts court illustrates that corporate mergers and complex business relationships can create circumstances in which a negligence claim may proceed despite the general exclusivity of the workers&#8217; compensation system. If you have lost a loved one in a workplace accident or suffered a serious work-related injury, an experienced Massachusetts workers&#8217; compensation attorney can help determine whether additional legal claims may be available.</p>
<p style="font-weight: 400" data-start="1305" data-end="1337"><strong data-start="1305" data-end="1337">Facts and Procedural History</strong></p>
<p style="font-weight: 400" data-start="1339" data-end="2096">Reportedly, the decedent was employed by a corporation that operated cranberry bogs and was fatally injured while operating a sanding buggy during the course of his employment. The equipment had been designed and constructed before his accident by entities that later became part of a larger corporate reorganization. After the accident, the decedent&#8217;s family received workers&#8217; compensation death benefits but also filed a wrongful death action alleging that negligent design, manufacture, and maintenance of the equipment caused the fatal accident. Because the original corporations had merged into another company before the accident occurred, the family ultimately pursued the surviving corporation as the defendant.</p>
<p style="font-weight: 400" data-start="2098" data-end="2647">Allegedly, the defendant argued that the lawsuit was barred by the exclusivity provisions of the Massachusetts Workers&#8217; Compensation Act because it employed the decedent when the accident occurred. The defendant also asserted that any liability arising from predecessor corporations was shielded by workers&#8217; compensation immunity inherited through the corporate merger. The trial court agreed and entered summary judgment for the defendant. The decedent&#8217;s family appealed. <span id="more-2276"></span></p>
<p style="font-weight: 400" data-start="2649" data-end="2697"><strong data-start="2649" data-end="2697">Claims Arising Out of Workplace Injuries</strong></p>
<p style="font-weight: 400" data-start="2699" data-end="3120">On appeal, the court carefully examined the interaction between Massachusetts corporate merger law and the Workers&#8217; Compensation Act. While the court recognized that employers generally enjoy immunity from negligence lawsuits arising out of workplace injuries, it explained that a corporation acquiring another business through merger also inherits both the liabilities and legal rights of the predecessor entities.</p>
<p style="font-weight: 400" data-start="3122" data-end="3751">Applying those principles, the court concluded that the defendant could not rely solely on its status as the decedent&#8217;s employer to eliminate liability that may have been inherited from a predecessor corporation that was not the decedent&#8217;s employer. The court discussed what is commonly known as the &#8220;dual persona&#8221; doctrine, explaining that a company may possess legal obligations separate and distinct from its role as the injured worker&#8217;s employer. If liability arises from that separate legal identity, workers&#8217; compensation exclusivity does not automatically prevent a negligence action.</p>
<p style="font-weight: 400" data-start="3753" data-end="4423">The court also rejected the defendant&#8217;s request for summary judgment based on arguments that the corporations functioned as a single employer or that one employee acted as a loaned servant of another entity. Whether those theories applied depended on disputed questions of fact concerning corporate control, management, and the relationships among the affiliated companies. Likewise, the court declined to disregard the separate corporate identities simply because the companies shared ownership, management, or workers&#8217; compensation insurance. Those issues required factual development and could not be resolved as a matter of law. As a result, the court reversed the summary judgment and allowed the family&#8217;s wrongful death claims to proceed.</p>
<p style="font-weight: 400"><strong>Speak With a Capable Massachusetts Workers&#8217; Compensation Attorney</strong></p>
<p style="font-weight: 400" data-start="4967" data-end="5791" data-is-last-node="" data-is-only-node="">Workers&#8217; compensation benefits may not always be the only source of recovery after a serious workplace accident. If another individual or company contributed to your injuries, you may have additional legal rights. Before assuming your options are limited, you should contact an attorney to discuss your case.  James K. Meehan of the Law Office of James K. Meehan is a capable Massachusetts <a href="https://www.karsnermeehan.com/practice-areas/workers-compensation/" target="_blank" rel="noopener">workers’ compensation</a> attorney<strong> </strong>who helps injured workers identify every available avenue for recovery and protects their interests throughout the claims process. Call the Law Office of James K. Meehan at 508-822-6600 or complete the firm&#8217;s online contact form to schedule a consultation.</p>
<p style="font-weight: 400">
]]></content:encoded>
					
		
		
		<post-id xmlns="com-wordpress:feed-additions:1">2276</post-id>	</item>
	</channel>
</rss>

<!--
Performance optimized by W3 Total Cache. Learn more: https://www.boldgrid.com/w3-total-cache/?utm_source=w3tc&utm_medium=footer_comment&utm_campaign=free_plugin

Page Caching using Disk: Enhanced (Requested URI is rejected) 

Served from: www.massachusettsinjurylawyersblog.com @ 2026-10-06 19:24:57 by W3 Total Cache
-->